- Clerk, Recorder, Assessor & Elections (CRAE)
- Property Tax Programs
Property Tax Programs
Should you disagree with your assessed value you should first contact the Assessor's office and ask to discuss your assessment.
There is a builder's exclusion from the supplemental assessment for new construction built specifically for sale.
If you are a veteran, who, because of injury or disease incurred in military service, is blind in both eyes, has lost the use of two or more limbs, or is totally disabled, (or if you are the unmarried widow of such a veteran) you may be eligible for an exemption off the assessed value of your owner occupied home.
If a calamity such as a fire, earthquake or flood damages or destroys your property, you may be eligible for property tax relief.
If you own a home and occupy it as your principal place of residence on January 1, you may apply for an exemption of $7,000 from your assessed value.
Property used exclusively for a church, college, cemetery, museum, school, or library may qualify for an exemption.
Property Tax Postponements
The Property Tax Postponement Program returned in 2016 after being suspended by the Legislature in 2009.
On November 3, 2020, California voters approved Proposition 19, The Home Protection for Seniors, Severely Disabled, Families, and Victims of Wildfire or Natural Disasters Act. The provisions of Proposition 19 modify certain aspects of Propositions 60 & 110 effective April 1, 2021, and they make Propositions 58 & 193 inoperative effective February 16, 2021.
Propositions 60 & 110
Transfers of base year value for person(s) at least 55 years of age and disabled persons (for base transfers occurring on or before March 31, 2021 only).
Proposition 8 (Decline in Value)
Proposition 8 allows the Assessor to review both the factored base-year value and the current market value of a property as of January 1 of each year and enroll the lesser value.
Propositions 58 & 193
Parent/child and grandparent/grandchild exclusion from reassessment for transfers occurring on or before February 15, 2021.
To be eligible for a Veteran's Exemption of $4,000, a veteran (or the unmarried spouse of a veteran), must be a resident of California as of the lien date.